Book Haul (eBook, Amazon, Strand, Library, and probably a bunch of other sources)

Note: Some Spoilers??

1. Stories From a Shadowhunter School // Tales From Shadowhunter Academy (by Cassandra Clare)

Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. The events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. Whomever this new Simon might be.
But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. At least Simon’s trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.
Join Simon on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. Written by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman, these moving and hilarious short stories are perfect for the fan who just can’t get enough of the Shadowhunters.

51VILrWaE3L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

My commentary: I’m guess that’s Simon on the cover, maybe? I’m also wondering why the book was written by 4 people. Not a problem, just curious. Looking forward to this one.

2. Chronicles That Belong to Bane // The Bane Chronicles (by Cassandra Clare)

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this paperback collection of New York Times bestselling tales, each with comic-style art. This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

51nQJx2qRsL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

My commentary: I want to read this mostly because of the chapter: “What Really Happened in Peru”. I’ve heard it’s amusing…

3. Mango Cheese 2 // Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor (by Rick Riordan)

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.

616O4YC7BmL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

My commentary: The next book has Percy in it, so… I’ve gotta read this book.

4. Norse Guide to Vanilla // Hotel Valhalla Guide to the Norse Worlds (by Rick Riordan)

So you’ve made it to Valhalla. Now what?
 This “who’s who” guide to the gods, goddesses, and other important figures of Norse mythology was commissioned by Helgi, who, after more than a millennium as manager of Hotel Valhalla, became fed up with answering the same questions from newly deceased heroes at check-in. The profiles provide essential stats, interviews, and personal reflections so you can identify the gods and avoid those awkward introductions. Handy facts about other beings round out this go-to tome. You’ll never see Ratatosk as a cute little rodent or confuse a dwarf with an elf ever again!
61zIBstL6XL-1._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
My commentary: I’ve read a few pages and it seems cool so far.

 

5. The Angel of Clocks // Clockwork Angel (by Cassandra Clare)

After the death of her aunt, Tessa Gray is sent a ticket to travel to London by her brother Nathanial. On arrival, she is kidnapped and abused by two cruel sisters (Mrs.Black and Mrs.Dark) who work under the name of ‘The Dark Sisters’, until her eventual saving by a group of people who are referred to as Shadowhunters. The rest of the book is based around her life with the new people and world she encounters. 

51vfy2mmLlL._SX316_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

My commentary: This book is pretty massive, but looks interesting. 

6. Apple’s Trail Mix: The Prophecy of No Light // Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy (by Rick Riordan)

Zeus has punished his son Apollo–god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more–by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles that have gone dark. What is affecting the Oracles, and how can Apollo/Lester do anything about them without his powers? After experiencing a series of dangerous–and frankly, humiliating–trials at Camp Half-Blood, Lester must now leave the relative safety of the demigod training ground and embark on a hair-raising journey across North America. Fortunately, what he lacks in godly graces he’s gaining in new friendships–with heroes who will be very familiar to fans of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus series. Come along for what promises to be a harrowing, hilarious, and haiku-filled ride. . . .

515nQ+dc8zL._SY346_.jpg

My commentary: Apollo is just hilarious, so I picked this up along with way.

7. The Orchestra That Dies: Community of Souls Who Don’t Know Where They Are // The Mortal Instruments: City of Lost Souls (by Cassandra Clare)

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

514vs9JhLGL.jpg

My commentary: Kind of crying inside because of the last cliffhanger, but I’m hanging in there. Get it? Ha? Ha? No? Okay…

~ Lilou 🙂

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s