Three books I DNF-ed

DNF- did not finish

Yes, dear readers, I don’t always finish books. I’m not proud of it, but it happens. Sometimes I just can’t push through. And…here are three of those examples:

*No offense meant to anyone who loves these books. 

1. Lord of the Rings – The Fellowship of the Ring (book 1)

I’m sorry. I’ve heard so many great things about the LOTR series, and I’m sure it’s great, but it really wasn’t the book for me. I tried reading the prologue (which was sooo long, and was just information about Hobbits and elves, etc, not even a story) which I couldn’t get through, so I skipped to chapter one and couldn’t get through that either. For me, this book is too slow paced. It took very long for anything to happen. So long, in fact I just gave up. It’s a little too advanced for me, too, and very wordy. The characters spend a lot of time just walking and talking and walking and talking and WALKING AND TALKING SOME MORE.

But I have read The Hobbit, which I did enjoy. 😉

Cover:

ea81ba3426a4209bb7fe54c22801b877.jpg

2. The 13th Reality – The Hunt for Dark Infinity (book 2)

I got pretty far into this book. But I just didn’t have the urge to read it. There was nothing interesting or important going on that made me want to keep reading. While I did finish the first book, I DNF-ed the second one. There were things that were supposed to be funny but just seemed ridiculous, annoying, and fake to me. Some things that were supposed to make me laugh just made me think that it was silly. It wasn’t too bad of a book, but I got bored of it, and the plot wasn’t really going anywhere.

Cover:

cvr9781416991533_9781416991533_hr.jpg

3. Little House – By the Shores of Silver Lake (book 5)

The Little House series were the books that got me into reading. I loved this when I was young, and while I don’t read them anymore, they used to be my favorites. This particular book was where I stopped reading this series. I got to about halfway, but I was young and had a short attention span. It got a little uneventful. Laura was just riding around on her horse. For pages. And pages. AND PAGES. There was a lot of excessive scenery description that made me lose interest.

Cover:

51RlSKejwQL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Postscript: The beautiful featured image is from Tumblr.

Thank you!

~ Lilou

 

Leave a Reply

