Book “Talk” #1

Book talking. The ramblings of a specific book. Today’s book: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

This is YA (young adult) book, so it has some cursing. This post, however, will not.

May contain spoilers. Please don’t comment any other spoilers because I haven’t finished it yet. Thank you!

Alright, let’s get started.


Ketterdam is a beautiful word. It sounds sweet and salty. I can taste it rolling on my tongue. Dark chocolate with sea salt… sort of bitter but sort of sweet. And it would look like a deep, dark, red. Like cherries. Black ones and red ones.

Wylan and Jesper. Please. Just. Wylan and Jesper.

Kaz is in love with Inej. Right? RIGHT? Does it just sound like that to me or…? He just. He trusts her so much. And he wonders why. And he keeps reassuring himself that it’s because reasons when it’s not, right? RIGHTTTT??? Someone answer me. Please.

Look the sides of the pages are black. How’d they do that? Do they ink the sides? Why doesn’t it bleed onto the pages, too? Why aren’t all books like that? They should, right? They should. It’s official. Everywhere I go with Six of Crows, people stop and say, “Are the pages black?” To clarify, the inside is white like a normal book. Only the outside is black.

Where are they crows? No crows? Is that not weird? I know there’s the Crow Club, and the crow head on Kaz’s cane/walking stick, but for some reason I thought there would be crows.

Page 181 is my favorite page in this book. Ever. I haven’t finished it yet, but I’m positive it’s my favorite page.

How do you pronounce Wraith? Is it Rayth? Ray-ith? Rye-ith?

Inej is way too cool. She’s soooo coooooolllllll.

I like the descriptions of the cities. Bustling hubs and things and I love the smells and the tastes and the foods that are described. It seems so real. So, so, real. Everyone, every place, everything, is so complicated and descriptive. Just like in real life. But even with all those layers, you still get what’s going on in the story. And it makes me want to know what’s going to happen next.

I crave books like this. Books that are funny, and action packed and not confusing, but also not boring. Books with characters you feel sympathy for, and empathy for. Books that don’t have annoying, whiny characters. This is a huge concern for me. e.g. Piper, from Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. Most of the series, I like her. She’s not my favorite, but i don’t dislike her. However, in the first book, she seemed to complain a lot about how her crush (Jason) didn’t like her. Don’t get me wrong. I love this series, but that book just wasn’t my favorite. But this is just my opinion. 😉

Over all, so far, anyway, I’d give this book 4, maybe 4.5 stars. (Out of 5.)

Sixofcrows.jpg


What about you? Have you read Six of Crows or any of Leigh Bardugo’s books? What did you think?

Peace out,

~ Lilou

Leave a Reply

