A book. Again.

I’m not even going to introduce this.

Okay. Never mind. I am.

I was watching a video, and this book was mentioned. And then, someone wrote about it. And then another someone wrote about it. So, I went onto Amazon and took a look at the blurb.

And now… well…

See for yourself.

*Blurb from Amazon

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . . 

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

I just read this. Blurb. And. Well. I need to read the book now.

Need to.

It sounds so exciting and I’ve heard great things about it! I hope I won’t be disappointed. 😉

It seems sort of like a movie or a play you are watching, or a book you are reading, that you get so lost in, so immersed in, you become part of the story. But the characters here are literally in the game!

And the cover is beautiful! It’s so elaborate. Although the two look nothing alike, it reminds of the cover from Furthermore. (See my post about Furthermore here. See another one here.)

I got this photo (below) from livingontheothersideofreality (tumblr). Her blog can be found here.

tumblr_okxdltE8me1t3gg6to1_1280.jpg

I’ve read pretty great reviews about it as well.

Also, Caraval reminds me of caramel. Just me? Okay…

Anyhow… I’m very excited to read this, I just have to actually buy it. The problem is, I have a huge stack of books from the library, and, you know how parents are:

“Why do you need more books? You’re already reading three!”

“But we just got so many from the library!”

“Didn’t you read that one already? Twice?”

Oh well. I suppose I just need to learn how to handle my books.

~ Lilou

Leave a Reply

