Short bit of a story

(I’ve never finished this story)


I am blind.

There. I said it.

Don’t think any less of me. Don’t think I’m anything but ordinary. Don’t. Just don’t.

I’ve heard two things about the thing I can’t see. The first is that color isn’t real. It’s one of life’s many illusions. I am lucky, yes lucky, in a way. I see a little more truth in this world.

And in a way I’m not.

The second is that color is the most beautiful thing in the world. But what is color? A shade? A result of flashes of light? The name of your local grocery store owner? No one can explain it in a way I’ll understand.

I cause more trouble than I’d like to. Calling out at school. Tripping people. I have a temper. Not my fault. It’s like being blind. I was just born with.

Mum tells me to control my temper, but how can you? Yes, you. How can you when there’s Reed Hutcherson and Lara Kingsley, following you like rats all day? Don’t you want to fight back? Don’t you want to do something?

I know Mum’s right, but I go to boarding school, so she can’t do anything about it. She’s still living in our old flat, in London, probably enjoying life.

But I’m just here, alone, except for Reed and Lara, who don’t count.

Maybe I don’t count either.


(Not my best work 😦 )

Unknown.jpeg

~Lilou

 

Leave a Reply

